Thursday, 2 April 2015

Vince Gilligan's Island on ME-TV

If you watch ME-TV regularly, chances are you have seen the promos for Vince Gilligan's Island. If you haven't, it is an event hosted by Vince Gilligan, who was a long time writer and producer on The X-Files as well as the creator of The Lone Gunmen, Breaking Bad, and Better Call Saul. It will air on Sunday, April 5 from 6:00 PM  Eastern/5:00 PM Central to 10:00 PM Eastern/9:00 PM Central.

As might be expected Vince Gilligan is the host of the event, during which he will feature episodes of television shows that have had an influence upon him. He will be joined by  Bob Odenkirk, best known as Saul Goodman on Breaking Bad and Better Call Saul.

I have to say I admire Mr. Gilligan's tastes in classic television, as he has chosen a solid line up for the event. Vince Gilligan's Island will feature episodes of The Twilight Zone, The Honeymooners, Taxi, and Columbo. He also talks about other classic shows he loves in this interview ME-TV conducted with him, which you can read here. Aside from reading about Mr. Gilligan's love of classic television, I was happy to find out his childhood was a lot like mine and many others of our generation. He grew up with only four television stations to watch that were picked up by a huge aerial on the roof, the orientation of which was changed by device called a rotator (which Mr. Gilligan, like many of us, calls a "clicker").

Anyhow, if you are a fan of classic television and Vince Gilligan,  you might want to check out Vince Gilligan's Island this Sunday!

No comments: